Our Trustees

As a charity we are governed by a Board of Trustees. The Trust relies heavily on the contribution of our six Trustees who dedicate many hours of voluntary time to support the work of the Trust. The Trustees come from a variety of backgrounds and are based across Wales.

Robert Scourfield- Chair

Building Conservation Officer at Pembrokeshire Coast National Park. Member of St David’s Diocesan Advisory Committee and the St David’s Cathedral Fabric Advisory Committee. Member of Institute of Historic Building Conservation. Author (joint) of Pevsner Buildings of Wales series (Pembrokeshire and Carmarthenshire/ Ceredigion), author of revised Powys volume, and local author. Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries. Treasurer of Burnett’s Hill C.M. Chapel, Martletwy and Deacon of Pisgah Baptist Chapel, Cresswell Quay. Appointed 2004.

Neil Sumner- Deputy Chair

Retired architect and chartered town planner. B.Arch.(hons), Diploma in Architectural Conservation, and M.A. in Historical Studies. Formerly Head of Conservation and Environmental Policy at Bridgend County Borough Council and Conservation Architect at Mid Glamorgan County Council. Retired full member of the Institute of Historic Building Conservation, and past chair of Wales branch. Former member of Welsh Government’s Historic Environment Group. Member of Cadw’s working party on redundant chapels 1994-96. Chair of Addoldai Cymru 2001-08.  Appointed 1999.

David Lloyd

Cambridge graduate, MA in Economics. Solicitor (retired) former partner at Linklaters, London, Head of Real Estate Department. Past board member and trustee London Metropolitan University. Current trustee of Abbeyfield North Downs Society Limited. Former Secretary London Presbytery, Presbyterian Church of Wales, Member and Elder United Welsh Presbyterian Church of South London. Appointed 2013. Chair of Addoldai Cymru 2015-19.

D Huw Owen

Former Keeper of Pictures and Maps, National Library of Wales. Elder at Capel y Morfa, Aberystwyth. Chair of the Applications Department and the Davies Lecture Board, Presbyterian Church of Wales. Member of the Executive Committee of CAPEL, the Chapels Heritage Society. His Capeli Cymru (2005) is a survey (in Welsh) of more than a hundred Welsh Nonconformist chapels, and his Chapels of Wales (in English) was published in November 2012. Appointed 1999.

Gerallt Nash

Graduate of the Welsh School of Architecture. Recently retired Senior Curator of Historic Buildings at the National History Museum, St Fagans. Founder member and first Secretary of CAPEL: The Chapels Heritage Society. Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries. Elder and member at Salem C. M. Chapel, Canton, Cardiff. Appointed 2012.

Elaine Davey

Elaine originally qualified as a Building Surveyor and was employed by the Percy Thomas Partnership.  She later worked on the supervision of the refurbishment of properties in Mayfair, London. Whilst her two sons were young she continued her interest in the built environment by studying for an honours degree in the history of art and architecture. Elaine was awarded a PhD by Cardiff University for her thesis on the work of the Percy Thomas Partnership in the ‘building’ of modern urban Wales.

She has held officer positions in various heritage societies including Chair of the Victorian Society Wales group since 2000, and Chair of West Mercia NADFAS. She has long been an active trustee and officer of Ruperra Castle Preservation Trust, Ruperra Conservation Trust, Cardiff Civic Society, Insole Court and now the Welsh Historic Gardens Trust. Elaine also serves on the Wales Heritage Group of Amenity Societies and other heritage initiatives and is retained by Taliesin Conservation as a conservation ambassador. Appointed 2019.

David Glennerster-Treasurer (Non-Trustee)

David is a retired Chartered Quantity Surveyor, formerly Managing Director of Wheeler Group Consultancy. He is a Member and past Chairman of the RICS West Wales and Treasurer of Pembrokeshire Country Markets.

 David was a Trustee and the Trust’s Treasurer for 14 years from its inception in 1999 until 2013 when he left to pursue his many endeavours across Pembrokeshire.